Three employees in a line

Three employees in a line. They speak directly to the audience.

 

ONE:

When I first started with this council, ten years ago, it was a different story.  We were treated with respect.  We were told we were special.  I was recruited for my skills and my experience.  There was hope that the future would be good.

 

TWO:

When I started with this organisation, three years ago, I found out pretty quick how bad things were.  I’d heard from mates who’d worked here since the start that things had gone downhill.  But I still had hope.  Since then things have gone from bad to worse and now I’m looking for another job.

 

THREE:

I started with this organisation last month.  I was really excited.  I want to make a proper go of it; this is just the kind of job I want.  The trouble is that everyone around me seems so low. 

 

ONE:

It’s hard not to be cynical.  I don’t want to be.  When management says that things are going to change I want to believe it.  But I need to see some evidence first.  Just to be treated like a human being would be nice.  A simple “please” and “thank you”, an occasional pat on the back.  I’m not asking for the moon and the stars.

 

TWO:

The shift system is a nightmare.  It’s inhuman.  And the pay structure is blatantly unfair.  If you phone in sick you’re not believed.  They bully you to come in when you’re ill.  And just try booking a holiday!  If I thought things could change I’d stay, but I just don’t believe it anymore.  It’s all hot air.  That’s why I’m going.

 

THREE:

I’ll give it a while ‘Cos I’ve only just started.  But it’s hard to stay positive when people are moaning so much.  The training manager says that the company is changing – making people the focus.  They want to show that they value us.  I know I’ve only been here a month, but if they want my opinion, it needs to start now.

 

END.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

